Grovers named to Academic All-State Team

Oak Grove's Logo - Orange/Gold Oak Leaf inside an O

5 Oak Grove students named to Class A Academic All-State Team

FARGO, N.D. — Five seniors from Oak Grove Lutheran School have been named to the 2024 North Dakota Academic All-State Teams in Class A.

The announcement was made today by the North Dakota Association of Secondary School Principals (NDASSP). Student selection is based on grade-point averages, ACT or SAT scores, extracurricular activities, community involvement, and leadership qualities.

The state’s principals honored Kayson Paape and Wyatt Nelson from Oak Grove on the Gold Team, John DeJong on the Silver Team, and Luke Johnson and Thorren Jorgensen on the Bronze Team.

No other school in North Dakota placed more than four students on the respective teams in any class. The principals selected 17 total nominees for Gold, Silver and Bronze teams in Class A, 25 in Class AA and 21 in Class B.

The NDASSP awards Gold, Silver, and Bronze team members an honor medallion. Oak Grove will acknowledge the five seniors during an on-campus ceremony. WDAY-TV and Forum Communications will recognize the Gold, Silver and Bronze students during broadcast of the state boys’ basketball tournament.

The North Dakota Academic All-State Teams are sponsored by the North Dakota Association of Secondary School Principals, Forum Communications Companies and its four North Dakota TV outlets — WDAY in Fargo, WDAZ in Grand Forks, KBMY in Bismarck and KMCY in Minot.

Oak Grove Lutheran School serves 730 students from preschool through grade 12 on two campuses in Fargo. The school started in 1906 as the Oak Grove Lutheran Ladies Seminary, a high school for girls. Boys joined the student body in 1926. The school added its South Campus elementary and the Kjos Early Learning Center in 2005. Oak Grove’s mission calls for expressing God’s love by nurturing students for academic achievement, lifelong Christian commitment, and loving service throughout the world. The school has been accredited continuously since 1926 by Cognia and its predecessor organizations.


Share the Post:

Related Posts